All for Joomla All for Webmasters

Ronaldo beats Messi to 2017 Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Cristiano Ronaldo was named the 2017 Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year at a star-studded ceremony in London on Monday.

The Portuguese forward, who won last year’s inaugural award, fired Real Madrid to the La Liga title and scored 12 goals as the Spanish giants won the Champions League.

Also, Real Madrid manager, Zinedine Zidane, was named the 2017 Best FIFA Men’s Coach of the Year. The Frenchman received the award for guiding Real Madrid to both Spain’s La Liga title and Europe’s Champions League trophy last season.

Former France star Zidane was the first coach to oversee a successful defence of the European Cup in the Champions League era.

Ballon d’Or vs FIFA Best Football Awards

The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony is the second since the FIFA award split from France Football’s Ballon d’Or prize.

The FIFA World Player of the Year award was merged in a partnership with France Football’s Ballon d’Or in 2010 to become the FIFA Ballon d’Or for the next six years.

According to EveningStandard’s Tom Doyle, FIFA agreed to pay £13million to merge the two awards, with Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo the big winners as the two La Liga stars dominated throughout the six-year deal.

FIFA decided not to renew the deal in 2016, meaning the Ballon d’Or lost its ‘FIFA’ tag and reverted back to being voted for by journalists as a separate award as FIFA’s Best awards were created.

 The Best FIFA Men’s Player award is voted for by a collection of journalists, national team coaches, national team captains and the general public – each with a 25 per cent weighting towards the overall vote.

The Ballon d’Or winner will be announced towards the end of the year with Ronaldo in poll position to also claim the award.


Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

About Author

Leave A Reply